OTTO Educational Consulting, LLC

Comprehensive Special Education Consultation for Parents 

 Testimonials

August 28, 2017

Carole Otto has proven to be an excellent advocate for children with special education needs. She has extensive knowledge of the Special Education system in CT and the wherewithal to navigate through the bureaucracy and regulations that we parents have to go through.  


We hired Carole to help keep programs in place for our teen daughter when the school district (we moved to) informed us they intended her to remove her from special education.   It was a crucial time for us and our daughter and because of Carole, we achieved our goal.   We were very fortunate; because of Carole and her knowledge, we were able to prevent the school from removing programs so desperately needed for our daughter.  


Carole has been attentive, caring and very knowledgeable throughout the process.  She also did not overlook how important it was to address my daughter’s need for accommodations during SAT testing. 

We highly recommend that you consider Carole, as she is the kind of advocate you want by your family’s side.


To Carole:

Thank you for your hard work with my family.  I especially want to thank you for your compassion and emotional support you lent my daughter when she shared her stories of being a new member of a community and school.  Your kindness was so welcomed in a time when the whole process was daunting and quite frankly, frustrating. 

Thank you for everything!

G. A. (mother)

August 10, 2016

Dear Carole, 

I am so grateful for all the help and kindness that you gave to my mom and dad when i was in such a bad place in my teen years. If it were not for your support and kind heart I would not have been able to become the woman I am today, or been able to reach my 20's and all the successes I have accomplished.  Thank you for giving me my life back. 


I will forever cherish the memories.  Your kindness and love for me was never forgotten.

With much love, 

L...M.... ( former client) 

January 20, 2016


Hi Carole, 

I just want to let you know how much I appreciate your help and support. I feel better already, and you have really made a big impact on our lives for the better! 

                                                                               T.A.  - a mom

December 15, 2015

" Dear Carole, 

How can I ever express my deepest gratitude. You have been a beacon of light and a source of strength. 


I was losing faith and barely hanging on to the last knot in my rope. I was so fearful of not getting  my son the supports he so desperately needed. And then you came along. I am so glad to have met you and had you on my side.  You have been much more than an advocate. You have truly become a friend. 


Your genuine concern for my son and our family have been thought of and truly appreciated.  Your knowledge is immeasurable and your "moxie" even greater.


Thank you from the bottom of my heart.  You are truly the best at what you do!  I will always appreciate your kindness."


Most sincerely, 

( J. J. - mother)

August 31, 2015

“Carole Otto is an outstanding individual who has a lot to offer. She has extensive knowledge of all aspects of children with special education needs. It is because of her excellence in this area that I hired her to help our eleven year old autistic son. Any person hiring her would be very fortunate to have her on their team. I can honestly say that Carole goes the extra mile to get the job done and pays careful attention to details along the way. If you're looking for an intelligent and dedicated advocate, you need not look any further.

I prayed so hard, that may sound corny or overdone, but you'll never know how much we needed someone to come into our lives and help us. You are truly a gift from God. An angel. The fact that you see our son struggling, and then to really, warmly embrace him just moves me to tears. I've tried forever to find someone to reach out to him and hear his cries for help. You truly are a very talented, kind, very educated beautiful woman. "

                                               - Jodi J. (mother of seventh grade son) 

October 13, 2014

Dear Carole,    

My daughter and I  are so appreciative of your services. She would not have survived without your  help and advice.                                                                                                   - Grandparent  -   C. B.

June 6, 2014

Dear Carole, 
As I was driving home this evening I realized I didn't send my email.  It has been almost a year that you have provided educational consulting and advocacy services for my son.   I can honestly say your expertise has had a life changing positive impact on his  educational future.  It is impossible as a parent to become expert in learning disabilities and special education rules and law.  You brought a wealth of knowledge of learning disabilities, educational rules and law to my husband and I in a clear and understandable way.  In a few short months you secured diagnostic testing and assistive technology assessments for our son.  You helped us interpret the results and explain complex findings clearly; so we could understand.  You helped us secure services and assistive technology hardware and software we had no idea existed.  You provided validation and emotional support to our child through classroom observation and one to one meetings.  You were honest, compassionate and realistic about the future and helped us be the same.  You demanded and arranged the best educational plan for our child.  You stuck with us when we had trouble making decisions.  Your help has changed our lives for the better in ways I can't begin to list.  

Thank you for helping us help our child.

- Cindy and Jonathan (parents of a son)

 

November 14, 2013

“Carole has been an invaluable resource and advocate in my efforts to help addressmy son, Brody’s dyslexia. Were it not for Carole, I’m certain my son would not have made the strides and progress he has in the past year!!As any parent with a dyslexic child knows, it is oftentimes a struggle to gain a true understanding of this condition, and work with educators and administrators  to provide the tools and Wilson-based curriculum that is critical to helping a child, like my son Brody, overcome his or her dyslexia. Carole is not only incredibly well-informed and trained in all the latest aspects and findings regarding dyslexia, to include Wilson Fundations education and tutoring, but she truly cares about the parents and their children who she works with. She has been there every step of the way to help me and my son deal with an oftentimes indifferent system of administrators and educators, and evaluate the best options for my son!Almost as important as her commitment, caring, knowledge and experience, is her ability to separate the fact from the fiction when it comes to dyslexia. She is on a mission to provide parents, like myself, and their children with the resources, knowledge and support that they need to deal with and overcome their daily struggles with dyslexia.I could not recommend Carole any more highly, and would invite any parent with a dyslexic child to contact her as soon as possible to be an advocate on behalf of you and your child!” 

- Stephanie M. ( mother of a first grade son)

 

April 4, 2013   

 I contacted Otto Educational Consulting from the recommendation from a close friend. My friend had suggested several times over the past several months that I should consider speaking with Carole Otto. At what I felt was my breaking point of frustration I called Carole I explained to her what had been going on for years with the school systems. Years of ineffective 504 meetings, schools denial of learning difficulties and unwillingness to provide much needed additional testing. Our son who was struggling at school and felt, alone, lost, and misunderstood by his teachers, the school administration.   Carole had many questions to learn about the nature of our son’s concerns, she meet with us and we felt instantly in good hands. Carole created an action plan and in a matter of days progress was underway and I felt validation that my parental instincts were real. A plan was created and agreed upon then laid out for us. Carole planned to attend our upcoming meeting and took the lead in preparing for the meeting. She made sure all the correct people were going to be in attendance so the meeting would be effective. In past meetings I had felt like this I was the only one there who had my son’s interests. They crushed me every year and insisted that I had a C student and needed to accept that. I could accept that but the grade letter is just the tip of our iceberg.   The day of the meeting I was greeted by a smiling Carole Otto with her brief case in hand. I felt like I had a Fairy Godmother as we walked into the meeting together. Having her there and the eloquent address she opened the meeting with completely set the tone. All of our goals were accomplished at the table that morning with the right people. The full picture of our son was painted during that meeting before everyone’s eyes. Carole had done more at that one meeting than I had done on my own in the 6 years prior. His educational testing is scheduled now.  I know that our son’s problems will be not be cured but I have peace that soon we will understand what kinds of help he needs and how we can become more understanding and effective parents. With the proper diagnosis our son can get the help he needs to be able to learn in the way he understands.  I see Carole in being a key partner in his educational needs in the future. Carole Otto is a champion in helping families and students reach their full potential.                   

- MaryJane F. (mother)

November 29, 2012

   "Like many parents of a learning disabled child, I have struggled to understand not only my child’s disability, but her potential as well. I put all of my faith, hopes and dreams into my school system. It became quickly apparent that my child was slipping through the cracks. So I did what any parent would do, I investigated, asked for PPT’s, IEP and evaluations to see whether my gut was correct or if I was over reacting. I should have been met with a partnership between teachers and myself, right?  I mean after all that’s what they are there for.  Unfortunately things don’t always follow reason, especially when it comes to your child.

      

   I fought the school system for years, investigated my rights and the rights of my child, all to no avail. I panicked when my child turned 13, knowing full well that high school was right around the corner, then what…. What happens after high school, how will my child survive the real world if she has no basic educational foundation. I was not an over protective, out of touch parent. I was a parent who knows my child better than anyone and knows full well when she is not  living to her full potential just because the school system did not know how or what to do with her. 

   My plea’s fell on deaf ears for years, until I met the one person who changed both our worlds. I looked for an advocate, someone to speak for my child, someone who knew the system better then they knew themselves. Someone who knew just what to say and what to do to insure my child gets the best she can possibly get. That person was Carole Otto, she is a God send! She listened and met with both my child and myself, reviewed countless PPT’s, school report’s and medical charts. Carole was not only familiar with my daughters disability and the school system, but the law as well. Let me tell you that made all the difference in the world! I was now fighting a war with my own army ( of one ) and winning! 

   Carole’s empathy is immeasurable as is her knowledge, she continues to go to the most up to date seminars and immediately passes the information along. She works hand in hand with the school, board of education and parents. I can honestly say I fear what may have become of my child after school if it wasn’t for Carole. I am looking to a long and wonderful relationship with her. Hopefully she will attend my daughters graduation from  not only high school but maybe college as well. My deepest thanks to you Carole!" 

                                                                                                                                                                                                    Sincerely,   

                                                                                Amy N.(mother)

September 12, 2012

"For the first time I was able to sleep the night before a PPT because you were going to be there. The meeting went completely differently because you were there.  I could finally relax and listen. Thank you so much!"

                                                                        T. K. (parent)

July 22, 2012

Hi Carole, 

"I just don't have the words to tell you how much we appreciate your help with Lexy. Helping us get her into the right program has made all the difference. Thank you for all of your help!  We finally see a smile on her face."

                                                                            Joyce M. (grandparent) 

April 22, 2012

Dear Carole,

"We all are so thankful for you and all the help you have given us! You were the answer to my prayers!" 

                                                                                            Thanks,

                                                                                            Melissa ( parent)

October 22, 2011

"Dear Carole, 

    Thank you very much for testing Julie.  The report was so positive, well worded and very professional.  Julie's teacher moved her up to the top reading group the week after we saw you!  But a copy of this report is going into her permanent file. We were both very pleased with the results; what you do is very valuable, and I wish you good fortune with it in the future. Thanks again. "

                            

                                                                                              -Nancy D., (parent)

   

November  8, 2011

 "Carole Otto is wise and well-informed on the current research related to learning and disabilities. I was blessed to have Carole Otto’s presence at my daughter’s first PPT. Ms. Otto’s presence changed the course of my daughter’s life. Riley was reading below grade level when she was in grade 2. Teachers and the school psychologist said that her reading level was not significantly low. As her mother, I knew that something wasn’t “clicking.” Carole met with my daughter and “played some learning games.” Immediately, Carole pushed for a meeting and testing. Within weeks, my daughter was diagnosed as dyslexic, was given daily support. Riley is now in grade 4 reading ABOVE grade level. I am forever grateful to Carole for her insight and ability to convince administrators and teachers that testing and remediation was necessary."                                                                 

                                                                        -  Elizabeth B. ( client/parent)    

November 4, 2010

 "My son was struggling with his transition to second grade, and I was not comfortable with interventions that his teacher was implementing without my prior knowledge.  One phone call to Carole was all it took to have his second grade year turn into a successful one.  She came to my son's school promptly, reviewed all information and observed the classroom and teacher.  Carole is articulate, knowledgeable, personable and blended into the classroom in such a way that everyone felt supported and respected.  I am so thankful to have her as resource and highly recommend her expertise to any parent who has learning concerns about their child."                                           

                                                     - Michelle S. ( client/parent)




***********************************************

              Copyright © 2007   OTTO Educational Consulting, LLC . A